About Us    Contact Us    Join    Members Login    Calendar 

 

 

 


Search:

 



2008 Issues

 

 

 
January/February 2008

 

 
March/April 2008

 

 
May/June 2008

 
July/August 2008


September/October 2008

 


November/December 2008

 

January/February 2008

Connecting the Data Points; From the President, Mary M. Collins, president & CEO, BCFM/BCCA; mcollins@bcfm.com

Prospectus
Radio, Cable at the Head of EBITDA Class
The Bee Hive of Web Activity

Ask the Experts
Legal Bugaboos
; Dawn Sciarrino, partner, Sciarrino & Shubert PLLC, dawn@sciarrinolaw.com

Keys to the Media Kingdom; by Janet Stilson, TFM editor, editor@bcfm.com

The Shape of the Dollar; by James Dix, former VP of North America equity research, Deutsche Bank Securities, jdb26354@gmail.com

Painting the Company Green; by Debora Wilson, president & CEO, The Weather Channel Companies, dwilson@weather.com.

Banging the Drum Slowly; by Lee Shubert, partner, Sciarrino & Shubert PLLC, lee@sciarrinolaw.com.

Sizzling Content, Legal Fires; by Kenneth Goldstein, worldwide media liability manager & Anthony Dolace, senior errors and omissions claim supervisor, The Chubb Group of Insurance Companies. goldstek@chubb.com and adolce@chubb.com.

Data Deep Dive
Broadband Bonanza

The Last Word
Performance Tax Rights - and Wrongs;
by Kevin Goldberg, counsel at the law firm Fletcher, Heald & Hildreth, PLC, goldberg@fhhlaw.com.

March/April 2008

Your World. Your Connection., From the President, Mary M. Collins, president & CEO, BCFM/BCCA; mcollins@bcfm.com

Prospectus:
High on High Def: Rolling Out the Stats
The Shoe Must Go On

New Thinking About Older Talent; by Ann Carlsen, founder and CEO, Carlsen Resources, Inc.; acarlsen@carlsenresources.com.

Collection "Head Scratchers"; by Robert Rollins, corporate credit and collection manager, Raycom Media, Montgomery, AL; rrollins@raycommedia.com.

Big State, Big Date; by W. Charles Warner, Jr., president, Broadcast Finance, Evanston, IL; and BCFM/BCCA Conference Coordinator; warnerchas@aol.com

Inside the Ad Laboratory; by Janet Stilson, TFM editor, editor@bcfm.com.

Add Charm and Stir; by Abe WalkingBear Sanchez, founder and president, www.armg-usa.com; abe@armg-usa.com.

Avoiding Liability Battles; by Wanda Borges, principal member, law firm of Borges & Associates, LLC, New York; borgeslawfirm@aol.com.

Navigating the Unclaimed Maze; by Melanie C. Hill, tax specialist, Dow Lohnes Price Tax Consulting Group; mchill@dlprax.com.

Data Deep Dive
The Digital Signage Rocket

Last Word
Becoming a Role Model, reprinted with permission by Maria Brennan, executive director, American Women in Radio & Television, mbrennan@awrt.org.

May/June 2008

Inventing the Future; From the President, Mary M. Collins, president & CEO, BCFM/BCCA; mcollins@bcfm.com

Internet 'Insurance' Policies; Expert Lee Shubert, partner at Sciarrino & Shubert, PLLC, Centreville, VA; lee@sciarrinolaw.com.

Scripps' New Script; an inteview with BCFM's Avatar Winner, Ken Lowe; by TFM Editor, Janet Stilson.

Proudly we Praise; BCFM & BCCA recognizes 11 members presented with Awards at Annual Conference

Drawing Money with Honey; by Michael Denson, Director, Credit & Collections, Petry Media Corp.; denson@petrymedia.com.

The Great Campaign; by Marcellus Alexander, NAB Executive VP, television and President of NAB Education Foundation; malexander@nab.org.

Getting the Company "House" in Order; by Thomas R Wing Jr., VP Chubb & Son and broadcast segment manager for Chubb Commercial Insurance, Whitehouse Station, NJ; twing@chubb.com. "To Do" List: How to Avoid Risky Business.

Surviving the Seachange; by Abe WalkingBear Sanchez, speaker, consultant and trainer, founder and president of www.armg-usa.com; abe@armg-usa.com. Minding Your Ps.

Data Deep Dive
The Radio Report Card

Carpe Technology: Campaigning 2008 Style; by Dawn Sciarrino, partner, Scairrino & Shubert, PLLC, Centreville, VA; dawn@sciarrinolaw.com.

July/August 2008

The Next Black Swan; From the President, Mary M. Collins, president & CEO, MFM/BCCA; mary.collins@mediafinance.org

Tipping the Work-Life Balance; by Ann Carlsen, founder & CEO, Carlsen Resources, Inc.; acarlsen@carlsenresources.com

E-Mail Bombshells; by Carl Volz, attorney, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP; carl.volz@kattenlaw.com

Clear and Present Danger; by Bruce Lazarus, CEO of Cable Audit Associates, blazarus@cableaudit.com and Raoul De Sota, SVP of Strategic Development, Cable Audit Associates, rdesota@cableaudit.com

Changing the Game at Belo; by TFM Editor, Janet Stilson, TFMEditor@mediafinance.org.

Deep Thinking in the Big D; by Andy Holdgate, Holdgate PR, Highlands Ranch, CO & MFM/BCCA PR Rep, holdgatepr@comcast.net and Janet Stilson, TFM Editor, TFMEditor@mediafinance.org.

Data Deep Dive
Minding the Multichannel Gaps

Last Word
Rethinking the Digital Promise; by Mark Fratrik, VP, BIA Financial Network, mfratrik@bia.com

September/October 2008

Responding to Change; From the President, Mary M. Collins, president & CEO, MFM/BCCA; mary.collins@mediafinance.org

New Revenue Candidates; by Dawn Sciarrino, partner, Scairrino & Shubert, PLLC, Centreville, VA; dawn@sciarrinolaw.com.

Radio's Golden Newbies; by Andy Holdgate, Holdgate PR, Highlands Ranch, CO & MFM/BCCA PR Rep, holdgatepr@comcast.net and Janet Stilson, TFM Editor, TFMEditor@mediafinance.org.

On the Bubble?; by Janet Stilson, TFM Editor, TFMEditor@mediafinance.org.

The High Price of Plastic; by Rudet Fountain, national sales manager, ACM Payment Processing Solutions; rudet@acmeft.net.

Navigating the LLC Waters; by Scott Greiner, tax partner, Moye White LLP, scott.greiner@moyewhite.com and Robert Ropert, chairman media and entertainment group, Moye White LLP, robert.roper@moyewhite.com.

Safe Passage Abroad; by James Proferes, vice president and deputy directors and officers liability underwriting manager, Chubb Specialty Insurance; jproferes@chubb.com.

Data Deep Dive
Brighter Years Ahead

Last Word
Model Strains; Shannon Dunham, counsel, Sherman & Howard LLC, St. Louis; sdunham@shermanhoward.com.

November/December 2008

The Cutback Boomerang; From the President, Mary M. Collins, president & CEO, MFM/BCCA; mary.collins@mediafinance.org

Cable's New Shopping Rules; Shannon Dunham, counsel, Sherman & Howard LLC, St. Louis; sdunham@shermanhoward.com.

Talent Tactics in a Crisis Environment; by Ann Carlsen, founder & CEO, Carlsen Resources, Inc.; acarlsen@carlsenresources.com

Managing Receivables During Tough Times; by C. Robin Szabo, President, Szabo Associates,media collection professionals, Atlanta, GA; robin@szabo.com.

When Prizes...Cause Unwanted Surprises; by Philip Bonomo, attorney, Leventhal Senter & Lerman PLLC, Washington, DC; pbonomo@lsl-law.com. Sidebar: Heart of the Material Matter

When Fair Means Free; by Thea Kerman, attorney, New York City; movielaw@hotmail.com.

The Tension Buster; by Janet Stilson, TFM Editor, TFMEditor@mediafinance.org. Sidebar: Map of Personalities

Now Hear This; by John W. GAgwell, attorney, Leventhal Senter & Lerman PLLC, Washington, DC; jbagwell@lsl-law.com. Sidebar: Surviving an Audit.

Data Deep Dive
Sites Take Flight

Last Word
Defeating the DE-MOTIVATOR; by Robert Evans Wilson, Jr., motivational speaker and consultant; www.jumpstartyourmeeting.com.

 

 

 

Privacy Policy    

Home     

Join    

Board of Directors    

Staff Directory

MFM * 550 W. Frontage Road * Ste. 3600 * Northfield, IL 60093 * Phone: 847.716.7000 * Fax: 847.716.7004 *  info@mediafinance.org

 

Copyright©2008-2015 Media Financial Management Association (MFM)
All rights reserved.

This site best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 or higher